Jindřich Chalupecký Award

Jindřich Chalupecký Award

Jindřich Chalupecký Award, named in honor of the leading Czech theorist and critic of visual arts and literature, essayist and philosopher, was founded in 1990 by Václav Havel, Jiří Kolář and Theodor Pištěk. It is awarded to visual artists up to the age of 35 who live or work in the Czech Republic. It also recognizes the life-long work of Jindřich Chalupecký (1910–1990) and his activities by which he initiated unofficial, avant-garde life after 1969, promoting Czech non-conformist visual arts and helping them maintain their independence and continuity within the tradition of modern art and European art culture.

Award Conditions

Jindřich Chalupecký Award is awarded to visual artists who live or work in the Czech Republic and who reach the age limit of 35 maximum by December 31 in the calendar year in which the Award is held and presented. Czech citizenship is not required.

Jindřich Chalupecký Award acknowledges exceptional artistic achievement in the field of visual arts. It is aimed at the up-and-coming generation of artists whose work has the potential to succeed in the context of the Czech and international art scene in the long run and which holds a unique position both in terms of its content and form. The Award is awarded to artists working in various media, respecting interdisciplinary and other current tendencies in contemporary arts.

Jindřich Chalupecký Award is announced as a competition for which the artists can apply themselves. Experts in the field of visual arts can also nominate the artists via info(zavinac)cjch.cz. The nominated artists will be asked by Jindřich Chalupecký Society representatives to apply for the competition.

Artists who have been in the final of Jindřich Chalupecký Award but have not received the Award can apply repeatedly.

Selection of Finalists and Award Holders

The finalists and holders of Jindřich Chalupecký Award are selected by an independent jury of experts in the field of visual arts appointed by the Administrative Board of Jindřich Chalupecký Society. The jury has five members and comprises citizens of the Czech Republic as well as international experts, usually in the ratio of 2:3. Membership in the jury is limited to the period of 3 years. Jindřich Chalupecký Award has no right to influence the decision of the jury. The selection of the finalists and holders of Jindřich Chalupecký Award is the result of the consensus of the jury members based on an intensive common debate and careful selection process.

Each year, the jury selects five finalists who are intensively supported by Jindřich Chalupecký Society throughout the year, especially in creating a new work for the collective fall exhibition held at one of the partner institutions: The National Gallery in Prague or The Moravian Gallery in Brno. During the exhibition period, the jury selects the Jindřich Chalupecký Award holder for the given year whose name is announced during the award ceremony.

This website uses cookies to provide services, personalize ads, and analyze traffic cookies.
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies.