Jindřich Chalupecký Award 2020: Jury Weekend

Jindřich Chalupecký Award 2020: Jury Weekend

The video record of the symposium is available through our YouTube channel HERE or at the website of ctart.cz

2020 symbolic ceremony for the Jindřich Chalupecký Award 2020 took the form of an all-day symposium. A rich program was offered and the event was broadcasted live on the ČT art website. As the Jindřich Chalupecký Award 2020 exhibition was not open at the time of the ceremony at Ostrava’s PLATO gallery, the entire program of this year’s Jury Weekend is accessible online.

11:00 Opening Ceremony with Tereza Jindrová (Jindřich Chalupecký Society curator) and Marek Pokorný (director of PLATO Ostrava)
11:10 Guided Tour of the Jindřich Chalupecký Award 2020 exhibition (commentary by curators Veronika
Čechová and Karina Kottová)
12:00 Presentation of the artistic duo Anna Slama and Mark Delong
12:20 Jakub Choma artist presentation
12:25 Performance by Jakub Choma: Gears Of Life
13:00 Presentation of the artistic collective Extrasensory-Aesthetics Research Working Group
13:20 Marie Tučková artist presentation
13:25 Performance by Marie Tučková: Sis of Styxx (performers: Marta Ebenová, Eliška Fajmonová, Klára Fleková, Magdalena Havlová, Anežka Heinzlová, Mariana Hradilková, Rebeka Maxová, Natálie Rajnišová, Marie
14:00 Alma Lily Rayner artist presentation
14:15 Jiří Žák artist presentation
14:30 Live concert: XADREZ, the musical duo of Husam Abed (an actor from Jiří Žák's videos) and Cyril Kaplan
(musician from the band Vložte kočku)
15:00 Presentation of the international guests Pauline Boudry and Renate Lorenz
15:15 Pauline Boudry and Renate Lorenz video screening contextualizing their film (No) Time, from the archive n.b.k. Video-Forum (Anetta Mona Chişa / Lucia Tkáčová, Anna Daučíková, Sanja Iveković, Hajnal Németh, Lia Perjovschi, Ming Wong and Haegue Yang)
16:15 Discussion: We Reject the Principle of Competition, featuring the Jindřich Chalupecký Award 2020 finalists, moderated by Tereza Jindrová
17:45 Closing Ceremony

The Jindřich Chalupecký Award 2020 finalists chose to view the Award as an opportunity to mutually enrich one another and share a variety of artistic methods, and expressed a collective wish for the Award not to be granted to a single winner. This year, then, for the first time, there was not any laureate elected, and in place of the traditional award ceremony, this one-day celebration bringed together a number of exceptional artistic personalities. During the symposium, the finalists offered personal commentary on the works they created for the PLATO Ostrava gallery exhibition. In addition, some finalists presented live performances or music. The program also included a discussion between finalists and representatives of the international jury, a guided tour of the Jindřich Chalupecký Award exhibition, and an exhibition by foreign guest artists Pauline Boudry and Renate Lorenz. Viewers could also get to know the work of this artistic duo in a broader context through a curated selection of videos from the Neuer Berliner Kunstverein Video-Forum archive contextualizing the new Boudry and Lorenz’s choreographic-performative film (No) Time, which made its premiere in Ostrava. 

The whole program is translated into both Czech and (Czech) sign language.

Director: Bohdan Bláhovec
Dramaturgy: Barbora Ciprová
Camera: Michal Blecha, Ivan Svoboda
Sound: Jakub Černý
Moderators: Tereza Jindrová, Karina Kottová, Veronika Čechová
Production: Sára Davidová, Jakub Lerch
Performers: Pauline Boudry & Renate Lorenz, Jakub Choma, Vjera Borozan, João Laia, Working Group for Research on Extrasensory Aesthetics (Matěj Pavlík, Jan Kolský, Peter Sit and Vojtěch Märc), Alma Lily Rayner, Anna Slama & Marek Delong, Marie Tučková, Xadrez, Jiří Žák, Marie Singers and others
Streaming: ALL DV

Held by Jindřich Chalupecký Society.
Co-organizer: PLATO
The online Jury Weekend event was created in cooperation with ČT art and artyčok.tv.
We thank the Ministry of Culture of the Czech Republic for financial support.
Special thanks to Neuer Berliner Kunstverein for loaning audiovisual works from the Video-Forum collection.