Jindřich Chalupecký Award 1999

In 1999, a jury of Czech visual artists and theorists nominated five artists for the 10th edition of the leading Czech award for visual artists under 35. The award ceremony was held at the Trade Fair Palace of the National Gallery Prague.


The finalists of the 10th edition of Jindřich Chalupecký Award included Lukáš Rittstein, Jan Hísek, Tomáš Hlavina, Krištof Kintera and Markéta Othová. The jury selected award winner Lukáš Rittstein by five votes out of nine.

Award Holder

Jindřich Chalupecký Award 1999 went to Lukáš Rittstein. “Rittstein likes to work with ugliness, ‘low’ materials, and the ambivalence of their qualities and forms. His messages have a general validity in the spirit of Modernism, addressing global issues through visual sensitivity. His works are mostly monumental sculptures of provocative shapes spanning the beautiful and the ugly, yet they are comprehensible and accessible to the spectators,” Lenka Lindaurová wrote for Týden in 1999. The award holder received CZK 100.000 for an exhibition, publication or a creative project of his choice and an international residency.


The Head of the Jury of the 10th edition of Jindřich Chalupecký Award was visual artist František Skála. The jury further included philosopher and art theorist Karel Císař, sculptor and action artist Hugo Demartini, sculptor and graphic artist Josef Hampl, painter, sculptor and action artist Olaf Hanel, art historian Ludvík Hlaváček, visual artist and curator Petr Pavlík, journalist and art theorist Tomáš Pospiszyl, painter and draftsman Michael Rittstein, and art historian and curator Naďa Řeháková.


The collective exhibition Jindřich Chalupecký Award – Final 1999 was held at the National Gallery Prague. The graphic design of the invitation and the exhibition catalogue was created by Jiří Kovanda.

Award Ceremony

The award ceremony of the 10th edition of Jindřich Chalupecký Award was held at the National Gallery Prague in 1999.